Wave Image


The Second Muban Educational Trust Woodblock Printmaking Award

In March 2016, the Muban Educational Trust announced three Winners of the Second Muban Educational Trust’s Woodblock Printmaking Awards. First Prize goes to Gu Xiuhua, from Tinajin Academy of Fine Arts. Joint Second Prize Winners are Wang Qifan from Central Academy of Fine Arts and Xu Na from Tianjin Academy of Fine Arts.

69 final year undergraduate and post-graduate students from academies of arts in many parts of China applied to the Award with a selection of their current work as digital images. Working from these images a short list of 10 applicants was agreed. Each of the short listed students were then asked to send three original prints that they considered best represented their use of the medium of the woodblock print.

These years judges include:

Anne Farrer – Sotheby’s Institute of Art, the Muban Educational Trust

David Barker – The Muban Educational Trust

Weimin He – Ruskin School of Art

Clarissa von Spee – The British Museum

Kevin McLoughlin – Independent Scholar

Here are the Winners and shortlisted artists.


Gu Xiuhua 04

Gu Xiuhua – First Prize Winner

Wang Qifan 04

Wang Qifan – Second Prize Winner

Xu na-02

Xu Na – Second Prize Winner

Chai Xinlin《而已集——略论中国人的脸》

Chai Xinlin – Shortlisted

chen ming ming 02

Chen Mingming – shortlisted

Fu Qiaolin 01

Fu Qiaolin – Shortlisted

lu yan2路彦 这一代 木刻 93.2x66cm 2015年

Lu Yan – Shortlisted

wang changze 04《闲亭记之五》水印木刻70×100cm 2014年王昌泽

Wang Changze – Shortlisted

Xu  Guoyao 04

Xu Guoyao – Shortlisted

zheng changli 03

Zheng Changlin – shortlisted





The Muban Trust



The Third MET Printmaking Award Result

The winners of the Third MET Printmaking Award were announced on 14 February… Read more

Feb 15th 2018


Chinese printmakers working with students at Eton College

The Muban Educational Trust and Xuyuan’s exhibition of contemporary Chinese woodblock prints continues… Read more

Sep 28th 2017


Printing with Water – MET and Xuyuan Exhibition at Eton College Opens

The MET and Xuyuan exhibition, Printing with Water, opened at Eton College’s Drawing… Read more

Sep 25th 2017


Printing with Water – MET’s exhibition at Eton College

The Muban Educational Trust and Xuyuan Printmaking Centre in Beijing are jointly presenting… Read more

Sep 17th 2017


Muban Workshop at the China Exchange

On May 4th, the Muban Educational Trust and the China Exchange jointly presented… Read more

Jun 9th 2017

Yang Keyang 杨可扬

Cityscapes: The Changing Faces of China

As part of the London Crafts Week, in collaboration with China Exchange, a… Read more

May 1st 2017